Steve Smith takes home Allan Border Medal

In cricket’s night of nights, it wasn’t surprising to see Steve Smith take home the Allan Border Medal having come off an incredible Australian summer.

The Australian captain has had a year that will go down in history as one of the greatest ever, collecting many comparisons and accolades along the way. He has been compared to Bradman numerous times this summer and the similarities are there.

He also won Test Player of the Year having averaged a huge 81.56 and scoring 1305 runs in 11 test matches – the most of any player in the last 12 months and 200 runs ahead of the next best.

Smith said that he had “worked really hard” on his game in recent years and that the work was starting to pay off.

Despite David Warner’s disappointing series against England, the opener still managed to take home the ODI Player of the Year award having performed well in earlier series. Warner scored 691 runs from just 13 innings at an average of 57.58 including 3 centuries and a massive strike rate of 103.

Ricky Ponting was honoured for the success that he brought to the game and the impact that he had on the game during his 20 years of cricket by being inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Ponting admitted in his speech that “20 years felt like 20 minutes” and said that at times he thought about making a comeback.

Smith’s Allan Border Medal victory came as he beat Nathan Lyon and David Warner to gong that is his second of his career. Smith thanked the fans, Cricket Australia and his teammates during his acceptance speech and also made specific reference to his sponsor New Balance.

Smith said, “I’d like to thank New Balance, I’m a bat nuffy so they’ve really helped me out.”

The Allan Border Medal night is a celebration of the last 12 months in cricket, recognising the outstanding performances of the individuals in the game.

A full list of the night’s winners is listed below.

Allan Border Medal – Steve Smith

Test Player of the Year – Steve Smith

ODI Player of the Year – David Warner

T20 International Player of the Year – Aaron Finch

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year – Jhye Richardson

Men’s Domestic Player of the Year – George Bailey

Belinda Clark Award – Elyse Perry

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year – Georgia Redmayne

Female Domestic Player of the Year – Beth Mooney


Zac Fyffe
Zac Fyffe
Passionate about writing and sharing my experiences with others. Zac has a keen interest in sport and politics in particular. Contact: [email protected]
Share this