Dave Chappelle to be honored at Mark Twain Prize for American Humor gala

Dave Chappelle is the man of the hour as Mark Twain Prize for American Humor gala will celebrate his accomplishments and contributions in comedy.

Set to perform for him in the event to be held at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Manhattan on October 27 is a star-studded lineup. It includes Tiffany Haddish. Kevin Hart, Trevor Noah, Jon Stewart, John Legend and Chrissy Teigen. To be announced are other guests that will appear on the show to be aired on PBS in January.

The Mark Twain award honors individuals with bold voices that impact American society in a substantial way. Similar to how the distinguished 19th-century author Samuel Clemens, best known as Mark Twain. The first honor was given to Richard Pryor in 1998.
Recently, notable figures who have received the award include Tina Fey, Will Ferrell, Ellen DeGeneres, Carol Burnett, Jay Leno, Eddie Murphy, Bill Murray, David Letterman and Julia Louis-Dreyfus who was recognized last year.

In a statement to Deadline, Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter praising Chappelle’s impact on pressing issues.

“Dave is the embodiment of Mark Twain’s observation that ‘against the assault of humor, nothing can stand. For three decades, Dave has challenged us to see hot-button issues from his entirely original yet relatable perspective. Dave is a hometown hero here in Washington, D.C., where he grew up. We’re so looking forward to welcoming him back home,” Rutter said.

Chappelle’s brainchild, The Chappelle Show, was a sketch comedy hit back in the early 2000s. It showed satirical portrayals of political themes seen through his comedic stylings. It went on to become one of Comedy Central’s highest rated programs.

Ben Hornery
Ben Horneryhttps://bestinau.com.au
Ben is is a senior journalist and sport columnist for Best in Australia. He previously worked for the BC and other radio stations.
Share this