A complete study guide to ITIL certification: all you need to know

The ITIL – Information Technology Infrastructure Library is a leading global framework for managing IT service delivery. ITIL is a service lifecycle model that specifies particular procedures and activities for developing, designing, delivering, and supporting IT services. The IT Infrastructure Library provides best practices for delivering IT services systematically. ITIL certification ranks towards the top of nearly every list of required IT certifications.

ITIL, as an IT management framework, can assist businesses in risk management, customer relationship strengthening, cost-effective practices, and building a stable IT environment that allows for growth, scale, and change.

What is ITIL?

ITIL has created a service lifecycle model that allocates specific activities and processes to the design, development, delivery, and support IT services. ITIL 4 is the updated version of ITIL 3. Axelos upgraded ITIL 4 in February 2019 to emphasize retaining flexibility, agility, and innovation in ITSM. As of 2021, ITIL 4 was fully implemented, and Axelos stated plans to phase out ITIL 3 entirely by the beginning of 2022.

What is the ITIL certification path?

ITIL ATOs (Accredited Training Organizations) assist ITIL certification training professionals in working with ITIL solutions. Once the ITIL course is completed, these ATOs issue ITIL Certifications to qualified candidates. These certifications can also be delivered by an EI (Examination Institute), most of which operate directly with the ATOs.

The five different levels of certification offered under the ITIL foundation are:

  • Foundation

The ITIL Foundation certification covers the fundamentals of ITIL and is where most newcomers begin their journey to learn and get certified in ITIL. Before qualifying for service management employment, ITIL Foundation level candidates will likely need to complete the Practitioner or Intermediate certification.

  • Practitioner

The ITIL Practitioner certification is based on hands-on experience with ITIL processes and how those concepts are applied in practice.

  • Intermediate

The ITIL Intermediate certification is modular, with each module focusing on a distinct component of IT service management. You will get the chance to choose from different modules that you want to learn about.

  • Expert

The ITIL Expert certification covers the breadth and depth of ITIL processes among all kinds of ITIL disciplines.

  • Master

All ITIL processes and concepts covered in the Foundation segment are covered in the ITIL Master. An individual having an ITIL certification must have a thorough command of the ITIL framework.

What is there in the ITIL examination paper?

Knowing how to study for the ITIL 4 Foundation exam is critical when taking the exam. And to know that, you should first know how exactly the paper is and what it consists of. Here is a list of the important details of the ITIL paper.

  • The Paper is based on the MCQ- pattern.
  • Time limit: 1-hour duration.
  • You will have to answer 26 out of 40 multiple-choice questions on an exam (65 per cent).
  • Each question will have four possible answers. From which you must choose the best one. The score is increased by one point for each right answer.
  • Those taking the exam in a language that is not their native or working language may be granted an additional 25% of the time or 75 minutes.
  • It is a closed-book examination.

What is the cost of an ITIL certification course?

Registration prices for ITIL V3 and ITIL 4 certification tests vary by location. This cost can range between $150 and $500. A self-study is an option for preparing for the ITIL exams. However, formal coursework is strongly advised. The cost of classes varies according to the institute and location and whether you are taking ITIL training online or in a classroom setting.

Training costs can range from $500 for online courses to over $1000 for intense classroom learning programmes. The registration price is not always included in the classroom learning experience.

ITIL resources

Axelos has introduced My ITIL, an online networking resource that connects applicants with articles, tools, templates, and insights from industry leaders, in addition to ITIL v4.

Your ITIL foundation test includes a one-year subscription to My ITIL, which allows you to benefit from different resources and content relevant to your ITIL training, such as:

  • White papers
  • ITIL publications and templates
  • Digital badge for your ITIL Foundation certificate
  • CPD tools for professional development planning

Who should take the ITIL 4 foundation examination?

ITIL Foundation certification in IT Service Management aims to demonstrate that you understand ITIL vocabulary, structure, and the key principles of the ITIL approach to service management.

  • The course is intended for those who need a fundamental understanding of the ITIL framework and want to improve their IT service.
  • Anyone simply interested in the topic.
  • One who needs to comprehend core IT and digital service delivery concepts is interested in assisting their firm in adopting the new service management culture.

4 Tips to pass the ITIL foundation exam:

ITIL is an approach for leading organizations to improve their IT processes and capabilities through constructive guidelines and best practices. ITIL is more than just a standard procedure; it’s a methodology designed to help organizations improve the alignment between the functions of information technology and the business services they provide.

The ITIL Foundation certification requires you to demonstrate extensive knowledge of IT service management concepts and processes, specifically for those who want to apply these skills in the field.

If you are planning on studying for the ITIL Foundation exam, it’s important that you review essential tips and best practices. There are four essential tips that you need to follow if you’re hoping to pass this exam successfully and want to become an ITIL Assessor.

  • Set aside some time to study.
  • Try to frame your answers from practical experience to fit the ITIL parameters.
  • Mindfully write your answers after understanding the questions.
  • Don’t be alarmed; instead, relax and take your time.


A few basic yet effective strategies will help ensure you don’t miss anything as you prepare for the ITIL Foundation test. Many hopeful candidates prepare for the exam by reading a book, only to be disappointed when they fail. Thus, it is important to understand the exam and available training options. To get the ITIL Foundation Certification, you must correctly answer at least 26 of the 40 multiple-choice questions on the exam.

Share this