TV Academy: no Governors Award for the 2019 Emmys

For the first time in 25 years, the Television Academy has opted out of handing a Governors Award for this year’s Emmys.

Every year, the TV Academy’s Board of Governors can either hand out one Governors Award or skip it altogether. This is only the third time in Emmy history since establishing the award in 1978, that the award won’t be given out this year. The first to instances of skipping out the award was back in 1993 and 1994. The award’s first recipient was William S. Paley who founded the television network CBS. Last year, it was awarded to the Star Trek franchise.

Variety reports that the award will not be handed out this year as no recipient was recommended by the nominating committee to the Board of Governors. The TV academy did not mention why no candidate did not reach the recommendation level for this year.

Emmy’s rules state that the award’s entries are “made by the Board of Governors, the Governors Awards nominating committee or individuals, who may suggest recipients in a letter to the Television Academy chairperson.” As for the qualifications for the awards says it is given to “an individual, company, organization or project for outstanding achievement in the arts and sciences or management of television which is either of an accumulative nature or so extraordinary and universal in nature as to go beyond the scope of the Emmy Awards presented in the categories and areas of achievement.”

Aside from the Governors Award, this year’s Emmys might have one more missing, a host. Variety previously reported that the awards show might not feature a host for this year.

Ben Hornery
Ben Hornery
Ben is is a senior journalist and sport columnist for Best in Australia. He previously worked for the BC and other radio stations.
Share this