Every AFL club’s captains and leadership group for 2018

Every AFL club’s captains and leadership group for 2018

Being the captain of a professional club is one of the highest honours that any athlete can achieve. For some, it is about leading their team to glory, for other it is just about helping their team perform to the best of their ability.

The captains, however, shoulders a great responsibility in not only leading their team but also facing the media week in week out and often being one of the most heavily scrutinised players.

Luckily for these captains, they are surrounded by strong leadership groups forming the core of any AFL team.

Here are the 2018 leaders for your club.


Captain: Taylor Walker

Leadership Group: Rory Sloane (Vice-Captain), Matt Crouch, Tom Lynch


Captain: Dayne Beams

Leadership Group: Dayne Zorko (VC), Allen Christensen, Harris Andrews, Stefan Martin, Ryan Lester


Captain: Marc Murphy

Leadership Group: Patrick Cripps (VC), Sam Docherty (VC), Ed Curnow, Alex Silvagni, Kade Simpson, Matthew Kreuzer, Lachie Plowman,


Captain: Scott Pendlebury

Leadership Group: Steele Sidebottom (VC), Taylor Adams, Jeremy Howe, Lynden Dunn,


Captain: Dyson Heppell

Leadership Group: Zach Merret (VC), Cale Hooker (VC), David Myers, Joe Daniher, Orazio Fantasia,Michael Hurley


Captain: Nat Fyfe

Leadership Group: David Mundy, Michael Walters, Bradley Hill,Aaron Sandilands, Alex Pearce, Lachie Neale


Geelong is yet to announce their leadership group for 2018. The club will make an announcement at Friday’s season launch with Joel Selwood expected to retain the captaincy. All eyes will be on Gary Ablett to see if he takes on a leadership role in his first year back at the club.

Gold Coast

Captains: Tom Lynch, Steven May

Leadership Group: Michael Barlow, Pearce Hanley, Matt Rosa, David Swallow, Touk Miller, , Jarrod Witts

Greater Western Sydney

The Giants are also yet to name their leadership group but it is expected that Callan Ward and Phil Davis retain their roles as co-captains. Last year’s leadership included Josh Kelly, Dylan Shiel and Heath Shaw with Stephen Coniglio acting as the vice-captain. There has been nothing to suggest that this will change however Devon Smith has left the club after being in last years group.


Captain: Jarryd Roughead

Leadership Group: Liam Shield (VC), Isaac Smith (VC), Ben Stratton, Jack Gunston,


Captains: Nathan Jones, Jack Viney

Leadership Group: Jordan Lewis (VC), Max Gawn (VC)

North Melbourne

Captain: Jack Ziebell

Leadership Group: Robbie Tarrant (VC), Shaun Higgins, Jamie Macmillan

Port Adelaide

Captain: Travis Boak

Leadership Group: Ollie Wines (VC), Hamish Hartlett, Tom Jonas, Charlie Dixon, Brad Ebert, Tom Rockliff


The Tigers have yet to announce their 2018 leadership group but it would be a surprise to see any changes following their premiership triumph. Trent Cotchin led the team last year with Jack Reiwoldt and Alex Rance as deputies.

St Kilda

Captain: Jarryn Geary

Leadership Group: Jack Newnes, Dylan Roberton, Jack Steven, Seb Ross


Captain: Josh Kennedy

Leadership Group: Dan Hannebery (VC), Dane Rampe (VC), Luke Parker (VC), Kieren Jack, Nick Smith, Jarrad McVeigh

West Coast

Captain: Shannon Hurn

Leadership Group: Josh Kennedy (VC), Luke Shuey (VC), Andrew Gaff, Jeremy McGovern, Nic Natanui

Western Bulldogs

Captain: Easton Wood

Leadership Group: Marcus Bontempelli (VC), Jason Johannisen, Jack Redpath, Lachie Hunter, Jordan Roughead

Zac Fyffe
Zac Fyffe
Passionate about writing and sharing my experiences with others. Zac has a keen interest in sport and politics in particular. Contact: [email protected]
Share this